SEARCH THE UPPER DECK BLOG
Hello Vs. System 2PCG Players!
As Vs. System 2PCG continues to grow with new content nearly every month characters, card interactions, and even deck building formats can get a bit crazy. It has sure been a crazy year.
Today we have a few updates for you.
Rules Change: Loyalty and Piles
Currently, if you want to build a Loyalty deck, all your out-of-game piles must also follow any Loyalty restrictions.
From now on, that rule will be removed:
Out-of-game piles do NOT need to follow Loyalty restrictions.
Some examples of what this change will allow:
Clarification: Mimic’s Absorption History and Setup Effects
Mimic’s Absorption History does not allow you to copy any “setup” powers from the Level 1 Main Character in his Absorption History pile.
From the Absorption History rules:
During setup when you reveal Mimic as your Main Character, you’ll also reveal the Level 1 character in your Absorption History. Mimic gains its Keyword and Super powers only when the game begins.
When the game begins, it is past the point when you would have needed to resolve any setup powers.
There is one weird case we’re going to mention here since it includes cards from the latest story arc (First Family).
If Mimic has Doctor Doom (Level 1 or Level 2) or Mister Fantastic (Level 2) in his Absorption History, that will not grant Mimic an Invention pile. However, if you already have an Invention pile (because you have a supporting character Inventor in your deck) while Mimic is in an Inventor he will be able to access your Invention pile.
The Mimic Main Character is found in the Vs. System 2PCG: H.A.M.M.E.R. expansion.
Clarification: The Wizard (Main Character)
Wizard Armor reads:
While the Wizard is in combat, you may play any plot twist as a copy of an Open Fire, Find Cover, Savage Surprise, or Best Offense is A Good Defense plot twist.
When you use Wizard Armor, ignore everything about the plot twist you’re holding and play it entirely as an Open Fire, Find Cover, etc.
If the plot twist has a play restriction you can’t meet (for example a team affiliation symbol you don’t have on your side) it doesn’t matter.
Similarly, if a Plot Twist has a play benefit (like Death Trap) you don’t get to make use of it.
The Wizard Main Character is found in the Vs. System 2PCG: The Fantastic Battles set.
That’s all for today. We will have a larger update covering more topics in the near future.