SEARCH THE UPPER DECK BLOG
Welcome to a special edition of our previews for the Fantastic Battles Arc for Vs. System 2PCG: The Fantastic Battle! Today we are going to look at just one card – arguably our most ambitious yet and unarguably our longest rules entry to date!
First of all, you will note he is our first Omega Level Mutant — but not our last!
For Pocket Universe, get comfortable for some rules – but it’s worth it!
Franklin is one of the most powerful beings in the multiverse. So powerful he has been able to, from a young age, create a Pocket Universe. Here’s what happens when he does that:
A Pocket Universe turn sequence is a little different than a normal turn, as follows:
If there is more than one Pocket Universe in the game, each player will take their normal turn first, then a Pocket Universe turn for each Pocket Universe they have characters in, starting with the first Pocket Universe created, then the second, etc.
When Franklin leaves play, the characters from each Pocket Universe he created pop back into the original universe part of the game, in the same rows and with the same orientation they were in their Pocket Universe.
Whew! That was long! I hope you liked/read it! We debated about trimming it, but it’s sort of awesome in its length! Like the Grand Canyon, you don’t understand its immensity until you see it in its full glory!
So, no questions, I assume? Pretty straightforward stuff… (Mark, please disable comments and phones everywhere). It will all be fine!
Before Mark had a chance to lock down the comments, a few questions popped up.
1) What happens if a character in a Pocket Universe temporarily leaves play and then re-enters play? (Some examples of effects like this are Elektra (main character), Singularity (supporting character), and Doorman.)
When the character re-enters play it will go back to the same Pocket Universe it left. If that Pocket Universe no longer exists, it will go back to the “Main” universe instead.
2) If a Main Character is KO’d and replaced by a new one (i.e. Sinister Six), which Universe would it appear in?
The new Main Character appears in whichever Universe the previous one was KO’d in.
3) If Dark Phoenix is recruited while there’s a Pocket Dimension, does her Deconstruct the Universe affect it?
Yes, Deconstruct the Universe does affect Pocket Dimensions. This is because Deconstruct the Universe affects the game itself, not just the characters in play. (Characters in a Pocket Universe are in a separate part of the same game.)
Hope that helps!
Join us next week as we fill out the ranks of the Fantastic 4!
Vs. System 2PCG: The Fantastic Battles releases on May 13th!